thankfulness

by kristinnfarren

{from October 13, 2012}

Recently I finished reading the book One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp and I am so glad to have read it in this season of my life. It is a book about focusing on eucharisteo, the gratitude Jesus taught us via the Last Supper. One line that I love from the book says, “The only place we need see before we die is this place of seeing God, here and now.” It has been great to challenge myself to focus on the present and that the present is from the Lord. Its easy to see His goodness in my surroundings; I undoubtably live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, but His goodness goes beyond the grandeur of the Continental Divide (which happens to be the view out my bathroom window).

Today I am thankful for our first snowfall in camp, the big flakes falling; for Raleigh Young Life being at Windy Gap; for having gone on our staff retreat this week; for rest after long work days; for NC State beating Florida State, and getting to watch it happen; for having friends from Raleigh that live here too.

As I mentioned, we got to go on our CCR staff retreat this week. Kind of funny but, we went to Trail West, another YL camp here in Colorado! It was a great time for our staff to be together, have fun, and be reminded that we get to do this job. I loved being there with this new community of people and getting to know everyone better.

