family traditions

by kristinnfarren

Easter has always been an odd holiday for our family for some reason. There were some normalcies growing up (church, baskets, dresses, bonnets, bowties, pictures), but my how we’ve veered off course. Granted, Jesus’ resurrection still tops the list. I think around middle school we began having Easter lunch…at the local Japanese steakhouse. As thankful as I am for Mt. Fugi, I am glad we have moved past this little tradition.

circa 1999?

circa 1999?

Our current Easter tradition began while I was in college when one of Dad’s friends invited us to use his cabin in the mountains for a weekend. It is affectionately known as Big Ridge. The place is beautiful and it looks out (from atop a big ridge) over the Blue Ridge Mountains. I am kind of glad this tradition is sticking. There is a pretty neat sunrise service that we like to go to at the Homestead Resort’s Gun Range.

I got to be home for a week for intern spring break, which mainly was a time for us to really start preparing for the craziness of summer here at CCR. We went to Big Ridge as a family, this time with our friend Danielle in tow. I am super thankful we had this mandatory use of our vacation time — it was pure joy to be able to be in Raleigh & Pinehurst!!

 

The real highlight of all these family traditions is something we like to call an album cover. Who knows what made us think it was a good idea several years ago, but we’re still going strong.

happy Easter, from our family to yours

happy Easter, from our family to yours

 

 

