Psalms of the summer: day 3 for the assigned team

by kristinnfarren

Psalm 40

Young Life field staff impresses the heck out of me the way they work so hard doing direct ministry with high school and middle school kids. The love of Christ through them changes communities and their lives are such a testimony to the person of Christ. These are the people who make up the assignment teams.

Basically they work really, really hard everyday in the towns they live in, then they come on assignment and they work really, really hard without any days off and don’t lie on their own pillow at night.

They are so committed to this ministry. It brings me great joy to work alongside them in the summer.

The camp speaker seems like a pretty glamorous job. They get to share the Gospel day in & day out with campers. Everyone in camp knows their name. Oh but they’re exhausted. They carry the burdens of the stories of broken high schoolers.
I have not kept the goodness of your justice hidden in my heart; I have talked about your faithfulness and saving power. I have told everyone in the great assembly of your unfailing love and faithfulness.

During Real Life, many AT members share about their lives, about their transformation from death to life. It is a sweet time in the camp week and gives many campers a clear & tangible picture of the Gospel. But to revert back to their old selves in this way brings up many past wounds and hurts.
Please, Lord, rescue me! Come quickly, Lord, and help me!

Every time they leave here I am sad. I wish they could just stay and join our team forever. I have to hold on to the truth that we all do work together, that it all matters, for eternity.
But may all who search for you be filled with joy and gladness in you. May those who love your salvation shout, ‘The Lord is great!’

